Andorra establishes the Committee of Honour for the 2023 Alpine Skiing World Cup Finals
Since 2008, the Soldeu El Tarter sectors of Grandvalira have successfully hosted a total of 11 competitions including Europa Cups, Europa Cup Finals, World Cups, and World Cup Finals

Andorra la Vella, 25 October 2021. Only 140 days until top competition returns to the Soldeu El Tarter sectors of Grandvalira with the Alpine Skiing Europa Cup Finals, and just over 500 days until the return of the great white circus with the celebration of the World Cup Finals. Today the Committee of Honour was established for these two events taking place in Andorra from 14 to 20 March 2022 and from 13 to 19 March 2023, respectively. The event was attended by Xavier Espot, Head of the Government of Andorra; Francesc Camp, General Consul of Canillo; Josep Pintat, President of the Andorran Ski Federation (FAE) and David Hidalgo, General Director of the Organizing Committee. The meeting was also attended by different representatives of the institutions and organizations that will participate in these sporting goals.


This is the fourth time in history that Andorra will host a championship of this level after the 2012 Women's World Cup (technical disciplines), the 2016 Women's World Cup (speed disciplines) and the Men's and Women's World Cup Finals of 2019 (all disciplines). The objective is to once again create organizational success to project the best image of Grandvalira and Soldeu El Tarter as a world-class alpine skiing destination. The Head of Government, Xavier Espot, has defined the challenge as "major" and stressed the importance of "showing Andorra to the world, reinforcing our brand, and demonstrating the capabilities and attractions that our country has".


The Committee of Honour of the 2022 Europa Cup Finals and the 2023 World Cup Finals is the most obvious example of the cohesion between the institutions linked to this project and which aim to replicate the success of previous events. On this occasion, the Government of Andorra, the Comú of Canillo, the Andorran Olympic Committee (COA), the FAE and the ski clubs of Andorra are represented. A total of 11 members whose main purpose is to represent the Andorran alpine spirit and promote the involvement of citizens in top-class sporting events.


The General Consul of Canillo and president of the Committee of Honour, Francesc Camp, has emphasized that "the teams dedicated to the organization of the events have worked so that each race is better than the previous one with the aim of getting the FIS to show its confidence in us by awarding us new events." And it has been exactly thus since 2008 with the holding of five Europa Cups (2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2013), four Europa Cup Finals (2014, 2015, 2018 and this season 2022), two World Cups (2012 and 2016) and two World Cup Finals (2019 and 2023).


For his part, David Hidalgo, head of the Organizing Committee, has set out the most notable aspects regarding the event such as the racing programme on the Avet (Soldeu) and Àliga (El Tarter) slopes, accommodation, hospitality and parallel activities, the volunteers and the most distinctive features of its organization.


In turn, the president of the FAE, Josep Pintat, has remarked that the Europa Cup Finals are "an opportunity to continue showing the FIS our organizing capacity, but above all our style, a character that sets us apart from others and which we believe means that everyone is talking about Andorra, once again, as one of the best snow destinations in the world."


The best skiers will be in the country of the Pyrenees

From 14 to 20 March 2022, Grandvalira will host the Europa Cup Finals on the legendary Avet slope and on the emblematic Àliga slope. The races will be an important test for the teams, demanding the maximum from them but enabling them to guarantee success for the 2023 World Cup Finals, which will be held on the same slopes from 13 to 19 March.

The World Cup Finals are the biggest alpine skiing event after the Winter Olympics and the Alpine World Ski Championships. The 25 best skiers on the international scene of both sexes will be in Andorra to compete for a week at the epicentre of competitive alpine skiing in the Pyrenees.



Members of the Committee of Honour

  • Honorary President: The Right Honourable Mr Xavier Espot, Head of Government
  • President: The Honourable Mr Francesc Camp, General Consul of Canillo
  • Vice-President: Mr Josep Pintat, President of the FAE


Honorary Members

  • The Right Honourable Ms Sílvia Riva, Minister of Sports and Culture
  • The Right Honourable Mr Jordi Torres, Minister of Tourism and Telecommunications
  • Mr Jaume Martí, President of the COA
  • Ms Meritxell Sangrà, President of the ECA
  • Mr Xavier Sarasa, President of the SEC
  • Mr Jaume Bousquet, President of the ECPGR
  • Mr Daniel Escabrós, President of the ECAP
  • Ms Meritxell Santuré, President of the ECOA



See and download visual material here:


Race dossier

Photos (Photos by Xavier Pujol)

Video mix of Europa Cups

Compressed images (Images provided by Grandvalira ENSISA)